Back to All Events

Sound Series: Rob Mazurek’s Farnsworth Scores - CMoA Theater

  • Carnegie Museum of Art Theater (map)

Join The Warhol for a unique evening of experimental sound composition inspired by mid-century modern architecture, featuring composer, cornetist, and improviser, Rob Mazurek. Through a commission from the Graham Foundation, Mazurek has composed The Farnsworth Scores as an experimental film and musical composition in collaboration with filmmaker Lee Anne Schmitt, intended to capture the interaction between humans, nature, and architecture at Ludwig Mies van der Rohe's iconic Farnsworth House. 

Mazurek has previously performed as part of The Warhol’s Sound Series with his ensembles São Paulo Underground and Black Cube SP, and also leads and composes for other ongoing ensembles, including Exploding Star Orchestra, Chicago Underground Duo, and  Pharoah & The Underground (featuring Pharoah Sanders).

Production of The Farnsworth Scores was supported by a generous grant from the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts.

Doors open at 6 p.m.

Co-presented by The Heinz Architectural Center at Carnegie Museum of Art.

More information on The Warhol website.

Sound Series

Sound Series is an ongoing concert series featuring internationally touring contemporary artists and bands from around the world. Learn more about our Sound Series.